Choosy Bloggers Choose One.

Choose one.

Today, I want you to choose one of your blog posts that you believe demonstrates your very best writing. In addition, the blog post should meet all of the requirements listed below. This assessment is worth 50 points, so make sure you choose wisely. Once you’ve selected your superlative blog post, scroll down to leave me (1) your first name, (2) the title of your blog post, and (3) the URL link to the specific post (Click on the post headline and then copy and paste the updated web address from the browser).

Requirements 

1. Meets all sixth grade writing expectations (punctuation, spelling, capitalization–including comma rules).

2. Features at least three, well-written paragraphs. I’ll be looking for topic sentences and supporting details, as well as a concluding sentence.

3. Includes at least one image/video that has been properly credited (or attributed) to its creator. Uses CompFight or GettyImages (embed photos only).

4. Includes at least two tags and at least two categories. (Click on the links if you’re not sure how to do this.)

5. Includes at least one embedded link to another middle-school appropriate website or blog.

6. Ends with a question or quiz for your audience. If you’d like to embed a quiz in an existing blog post, click here for a list of 12 quiz makers.

7. Offers a creative, catchy headline that is properly capitalized; see any of mine as examples).

Click here for a copy of the grading rubric.

The GATES test you’re taking today has timed sections. If you complete a section early, you’ll first focus on finding and reviewing the blog post you’d like me to grade.

After that, here are your options:

1. Write a blog post about taking tests. Are you for or against standardized testing? Share your opinion and the reasons behind it.

2. Go on a commenting spree. This week’s Student Blogging Challenge involves visiting blogs around the globe. “I like this post because…” Click on the link above for all the juicy details.

3. Check out the poem I gave you. It’s National Poem in Your Pocket Day. Carry it with you all day. Post it on your blog (with credit to the poet) and write a short reflection. Or, write your own poem to celebrate today!

3. Read. Catch up on book club reading–or get lost between the pages of your own book!

Today is National Poem in Your Pocket Day!

 

Tomorrow is Friday…bring your beach towels for outdoor reading!

 

7 thoughts on “Choosy Bloggers Choose One.

  1. Hi Mrs.Rombach,
    It’s Namitha from your block 2/5 class. As you probably know, Nepal has had a massive earthquake, and has destroyed tons and tons of homes. I wanted to challenge bloggers to make a post, sending hope to Nepal. No matter where you are you can always make a difference with your words. So, I have been personally sending comments to students who love to help and blog. Not only do I want students doing posts to Nepal, I also want teachers! So, I want to invite you to take the challenge, and make a post sending hope to Nepal. It hurts me so much to see people homeless in Nepal! I know many of your students would love to send hope to Nepal through their words. I have been asking every blogger to spread the word of the challenge, and now I am asking you not only to participate, but also SPREAD THE WORD!!! If you have any questions you can ask me in class, or via comment! Either way, I will always reply. I will leave the URL to my blog and the post. Thanks Mrs. Rombach!
    My Blog URL: http://namithasreadtosucceed.edublogs.org
    Post URL: https://namithasreadtosucceed.edublogs.org/2015/05/04/earthquake-in-nepal/

    -Namitha
    Block: 2/5

    • Namitha-

      You should leave a similar comment with Miss Waters, who coordinates the Student Blogging Challenge. Go to the Edublogs Student Blogging Challenge and leave the comment for Miss W at the bottom of this week’s challenge. This fits in well with the content of this week’s blogging challenge. I’ll add your option to the list I’m putting up for the class to follow tomorrow. I’ll have a link to a news article to your peers can read about the devastating Nepal earthquake. In addition, you might also send a comment to the other ERMS teachers: Mrs. Devlin, Mrs. Smith, Ms. Haseltine, Mrs. O’Brien, and Mrs. Fields. Links to all of their blogs are on my blog roll. Simply write one comment and copy and paste. 🙂 Okay, I’ll get busy adding your comment to this week’s challenge. 🙂

      Mrs. Rombach
      http://mrsrombachreads.edublogs.org

  2. I have a long poem for my pocket this year!
    How doth the little crocodile improve his shining tail, and pour the waters of the Nile on every golden scale. How cheerfully he seems to grin, how neatly spreads his paws, and welcomed little fishes in with gently smiling jaws.
    That’s from Disney’s Alice In Wonderland !
    Come visit my blog at http://koolgerl8710.edublogs.org/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *