Wednesday, March 18 – A Problematic Day :)

Mrs. Rombach has teacher training today, so I’ll see you tomorrow.

Credit :www.flickr.com/photos/deeplifequotes (creative commons)

Activity #1 Shark Video & Commenting

Today in class, we’ll watch a video about sharks. Afterwards, you’ll click on the title of this post, scroll to the bottom of the page, and you’ll leave a reflective comment summarizing your thoughts and feelings. For students in Block 2/5, this video may remind you of Xander’s compelling presentation about endangered sharks and whales. How does this video make you feel? What did you learn? How can you personally make a difference? As citizens of this world, how responsible are we for what happens to the creatures we share it with? How are land and sea creatures important to our own existence? Pay close attention to make sure your comment meets our class expectations:

1. Your comment is well-written and includes proper punctuation and capitalization. The pronoun I is always capitalized.

2. Your comment makes a connection or asks a question.

3. Your comment shows critical thinking. You’ve thought about the video and left a meaningful comment about its content.

4. Your comment includes your own blog’s URL, an active link back to your blog, as every comment should.

Racing Extinction – Why Sharks Matter from Oceanic Preservation Society on Vimeo.

Activity #2 – Vocabulary Story Time

Working with a partner, spend no more than 10 minutes collaboratively writing a short story using either a chronological or problem and solution text structure. Remember to use signal words to help your reader identify which type of organizational pattern you’re using. Include at least four vocabulary words from our list on the wall!

Activity #3 – Problem & Solution Paragraph 

Working in your writing groups, offer praise and polish comments on one another’s paragraphs. Pay attention to your writing mechanics (punctuation, spelling, grammar, capitalization). Next, revise and edit your paragraph and give it a creative title. We’ll print these out in the computer lab on Friday.

Extra Time?

Read quietly, work on a new blog post, or visit the Student Blogging Challenge and leave quality comments on a few class blogs from around the world.

 

43 thoughts on “Wednesday, March 18 – A Problematic Day :)

  1. Why are people doing this to sharks? Sharks have not been harming us in any way. It’s a great thing that a lot of people are helping to help bring up the population of sharks, but we need to do more. People need to understand that Shark Fin Soup is not important as shark’s near extinction. We need to help shark’s remain in this world. The video answered a lot of my questions, but there is one question that still lures in my head. Are sharks hunted for any other purpose other than Shark Fin Soup?

    http://www.dribblingbagels.edublogs.org

    • That’s a great question, Pranav! Why don’t you do a little research and report back to us what you find out! 🙂

  2. I would have never thought that people would hunt sharks. I thought that people would leave sharks alone considering how much damage they have had on us. When they said that people really like the shark fin soup, it made all sense to me because once an industry strikes big, it stays big until there is another big thing. I do have a question: what is in a shark fin that everybody likes? Is it some kind of special meat? Anyway, according to one of the guys in the video, “killing the sharks is like a house of cards. If you take one out, the whole house will fall down. I say that people should stop killing sharks to make soup. It is wrong and it will completely mess up the whole food chain.

    This is the URL of my blog so that you can comment on my posts:

    http://theworldaccordingtokeylime.edublogs.org/

  3. Hi,
    That was a very good video. I thought it gave me a lot of support for sharks and that they are not that bad. I know now why shark population is going down by the day. They are being used for soup and entertainment. It is costing about 1 billion dollars. That is a lot of money. We should be saving our sharks instead of using them for food and fun. That is a main reasons sharks attack humans if we are near them. That is what I learned from this video.

    martha.rombach@lcps.org

  4. Why are people doing this to sharks? Sharks have not been harming us in any way. It’s a great thing that a lot of people are helping to help bring up the population of sharks, but we need to do more. People need to understand that Shark Fin Soup is not important as shark’s near extinction. We need to help shark’s remain in this world. The video answered a lot of my questions, but there is one question that still lures in my head. Are sharks hunted for any other purpose other than Shark Fin Soup?

  5. This makes me sad to see all those sharks dying. People cut of their fins and throw them back into the ocean to die slowly I think this is a awful thing to do and it needs to stop! I think we could help by making a law that people are not aloud to kill sharks for no reason. I think people should be aloud to kill sharks to eat unless its get out of hand and there starts to not be many sharks left. https://hotshotsbycooper.edublogs.org/wp-admin/index.php?page=msreader.php

  6. I liked this video a lot, I even learned some things that I didn’t know was happening to sharks. For example I didn’t know that they’re starting to decrease in population. I honestly think it’s sad that we’re killing them to the point that they could start going extinct, and the reason that they’re being killed the most just for shark fin soup is ridiculous.

    My blog: http://writingwiththewind.edublogs.org/

  7. It seems like a lot of animals are endangered. Every time I hear that a animal is endangered, I want to know why. According to this video, the main reason sharks are endangered is because of shark fin soup. I’ve never had shark fin soup, but it doesn’t sound very appealing. Also, people are just cutting off the fin, then having the shark die without using the rest of its body! If they’re going to kill sharks, why don’t they use the sharks’ body parts too?

  8. Hi Mrs. Rombach!

    I think the fact that people are killing sharks just for fins is really mean, and why do they still so it even when we have been telling them to stop? Anyway, I liked the video and am amazed at how long sharks have been living! To be the species to kill them off really makes me very sad. I have decided to put up a post about the sharks, but I wish there was something bigger I could do. http://mremerald.edublogs.org/

  9. When I watched this video I thought that it was very sad. I don’t want sharks to go extinct because I really think sharks are cool animals that deserve to live a happy life. If you are thinking about killing sharks please pick another animal.

    http://pizzarosco.edublogs.org/

  10. I fell that when people kill sharks and only take the fins that it is wasteful. There is only a limited amount of sharks in the world, so if we keep killing them like this we will not have sharks anymore! I know that shark fin soup is a high demand and I get it but we can not just keep killing sharks like this. Without sharks our hole ocean system would go crazy, there would be no balance in the ocean.
    http://tennisplayer2014.edublogs.org

  11. Hi! I really can’t believe that people like shark fin soup! It’s really inhumane how people cut off the fins and then toss them back in! Sharks aren’t my favorite sea creatures, but no animal should be hunted for just one part. I can’t believe that shark population has decreased by 90- 99%! Why don’t people understand that if they disturb the balance of sharks, all life in the ocean could go away? If sharks went extinct, then there would be too many fish in the ocean, and they would eat everything. After all the plants and plankton are gone, they would slowly die out by the millions. They have been at earth longer than dinosaurs…….

    http://slippinsnowleopards.edublogs.org/

  12. Hey Mrs. Rombach,
    Watching this video made me realize that people may not like sharks, but that doesn’t mean they should be treated like this. The people should not be killing them like this, or at all for that matter, they cut off their fins then throw them back in the ocean to die! Do you think it’s fair that they are killed this way? Sharks are becoming extinct all because of our selfishness! Sharks have been around since before dinosaurs, do you think it’s smart to try to kill them off? If they became extinct then the entire food chain would be messed up, is that what everyone wants? Over all I think this video was very informing, I also think more people should watch this to try to stop people from killing the sharks.
    Come visit my blog:
    https://spikingitbyella.edublogs.org

  13. Hey Mrs Rombach, I think that this shark video is very interesting! I don’t think that it is very nice to cut the sharks fins off, then toss them back in the water to die. Shark fin soup doesn’t even sound that yummy, but I have never tried it (and I’m not intending to!) so I don’t know. I wonder if as time goes on will sharks be killed less? I hope so, they are wonderful creatures and they shouldn’t die. Even though there are movies and books about sharks killing people, people are the ones killing sharks!

    By Hannah block 4/8
    http://spottedelephants.edublogs.org

  14. I think the video is about if we kill Sharks there will be more fish in the oceans and not enough Sharks to kill. I hope this problem stops. -Jake

  15. I don’t know why people should be doing this to sharks. They are not doing anything to harm them, about 99% of their population has decreased over the years. I have a connection with this because my uncle and my dad were on a boat and my uncle caught a shark and it jumped in the boat. They had a lot of trouble getting it out of the boat. It is a good thing that they did not bring it home because then the sharks could be endangered. Why do people do this to sharks?

    URL: https://ceeagle36.edublogs.org/

  16. I don’t think people should do this because they are killing like a thousand sharks in one month because of this. About 99% of there population is decreasing. Do people all over in the world do this or just people in one place? I have a connection, one day me and my family went to the beach and the water was cold so we walked on the beach until the water got warmer so when we where walking we found dead sharks that were laying on the sand with there fins cut of and it was so sad.

    URL: http://sfeagle36.edublogs.org/

  17. Hi Mrs.Rombach

    I liked the shark video but its sad knowing that many sharks are dying. I also heard that in a year 90% to 99% of sharks have died over time. I have also learned that sharks have been here before the dinosaurs. So I hope they stop doing this to help sharks. http://jkeagle36.edublogs.org/

  18. It’s really sad how Sharks have been a part of our world for longer than Dinosaurs and now there being killed so people can have soup. Would people stop fishing for Sharks if people stop drinking Shark Fin Soup? Are there any Shark Reservoirs where people can’t fish for Sharks? What have people done ?

    -Raeva
    http://rgeagle36.edublogs.org/

  19. What I learned about In this video is that people are killing sharks and there are less and less sharks in the ocean. Also sharks have been living for about 40 million years. How I feel about this video is that I think it is so sad so many people are killing sharks and they should stop to keep sharks alive. How many sharks still live in the ocean?.http://cheagle36.edublogs.org/

  20. Hey my name is Austin! This video made me realize many things. It reminds me of the important role of sharks in the ocean. For many, many, and many years sharks have ruled the ocean. When sharks are gone we will soon be gone. I hope all of us can help sharks and save us.

    Check out my blog too! http://abeagle36.edublogs.org/

  21. I thought this video was very sad. The shark numbers are declining 90-95%. Like the video said species are like a house of cards, if you take one card off they all fall. It was very sad to see all the thousands of sharks in those piles helpless and suffocating. If sharks become extinct, the whole food chain will be out of its original way. The whole ocean could be filled with little fish and plankton. The supply and demand of shark fin soup is beginning to grow very rapidly. That is taking out sharks quicker and quicker.

    My blog= http://pawpolitics.edublogs.org

  22. Hi Mrs. Rombach!

    This video was so cruel. I hate to see all the sharks go away. We need them in out oceans, we don’t need them for shark fin soup. Can’t we just use a different type of fish for soup? Like the man said, “If the species are like a house of cards, you can’t just take it away and not expect it to crumble.” I really hope we’ll be able to stop this harsh problem.

    – Trang 🙂
    http://thereadingcow.edublogs.org/

  23. I thought this video was really inspiring, if we keep killing these sharks without a care, they will eventually become extinct. I like how one of the speakers said that a species are like a house of cards, you can’t just take one out and not expect the rest to crumble. I think this comparison shows that even killing one shark can effect the whole food chain. I understand the concept of the video, but I still have a question. If killing these sharks effects the world and it’s inhabitants, why wouldn’t people stop killing them? Isn’t there other soups that could satisfy people’s hunger?

    my blog= http://conversegirl.edublogs.org

  24. I feel that people care too much about them and treat everything and every living organism as any everyday life object, and not even care about one’s life. Many people today think that there is a big difference between the word animal and the category of human beings. They think that we aren’t human beings. We may have the voice to protest against things that aren’t fair to us, but other animals around us can’t protest. They try, but we can’t understand them, or we don’t care about them.

    In the video above about shark abuse, or extinction, it mentions how careless the people can be. In one part, it showed shark fishermen asking if they just cut the fins and throw the shark back in. What are they even thinking? Sharks just like any other creature on this planet has a right to live, and has certain needs to live. You can’t cut parts out of an animal and just throw them back into the wild. Once you have hurt a creature, you are responsible for your actions.

    I wonder if some type of other creature was known on this planet, and started to make us go extinct. How would you feel? That’s exactly how every animal hurt feels! Human beings may have technology and more ability to decide and think, but that doesn’t make us any more special. How would you feel if you were getting hurt physically, or emotionally, yet in a very unfair way?

    http://galaxyofwords.edublogs.org

  25. I absolutely love this video! I had no idea that shark fin trade goes for around one-billion dollars. This video is so informational and it taught me things that I didn’t know before such as, sharks have been around since before dinosaurs, they’ve been roaming the ocean for over 400-million years, ect.

    http://readingriverdog.edublogs.org/

  26. What a powerful video! When I did my presentation about sharks becoming extinct, I would’ve incorporated this into my presentation, it’s the perfect video to sum up everything. One more thing, if we want to bring the shark population back up, we need to stop the production of shark fin soup! If you don’t mind, take ten seconds to comment on my blog…

    http://apigsopiniononbooks.edublogs.org/

    Thanks!
    -Xander

  27. Hi Mrs. Rombach,
    I think this video is inspiring to people because we should protect the sharks than using them for their fins. They could be extinct any time soon today, tomorrow even in an hour you never know. We should stop eating fin soup and try to protect the sharks from this. My question is that are they ever going to find out how many sharks are in the ocean and how many are killed because of the fin soup?

    https://leilanisworld.edublogs.org

  28. I already know how much it will impact, if sharks go extinct. I think that we should stop or limit shark fin soup because we aren’t giving them life, and we aren’t giving them a quick death either. A man said in the video, that they cut the fin off, then throw it back into the ocean. That is SO not fair to all the sharks in the world. I’ve heard that Shark Fin Soup is actually not that great, or it tastes like regular fish. We know, that if sharks, our 4 billion lasting friends go extinct, then the whole food chain will go out of balance

    ~Shriya S
    Visit my blog!
    http://spellboundbybooks.edublogs.org/

  29. Hey Mrs. Rombach,
    This video was truly amazing and it inspired me so much! Even though I already knew what harm was being caused to sharks, I never realized how long they have been living on this planet. They were here before us, and we are killing them of from the place they claimed first. Why don’t they make shark hunting illegal? Shark fin soup doesn’t even taste good! What is your opinion on this topic?
    ~Mariya

    http://readingandwritingworldofwonder.edublogs.org

  30. Wow, I never thought about how many sharks have been killed to satisfy our needs. I remember tasting shark fin soup and I immediately spat it out. I don’t know why or how people eat that. I think when people know the truth, they’ll refrain from eating it. Why do people cut the fins and put the body back, instead of doing something more humane?

    http://sushimonster.edublogs.org/

  31. Hello! I have been looking into sharks for a while and I know much about them. I think that shark fin soup has become out of hand. Who would really care about shark extinction? Marine biologists, that’s who would care. The oceans would over populate! But I guess all we can do is wait and see if we really do stop shark fin soup or not. Visit me at my blog for ma opinions and stories at http://koolgerl8710.edublogs.org/ See you there!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *