Water, Water Everywhere…but Not a Drop to Drink

 Stop and drink.

You can turn on the faucet and clear, clean water rushes out. You have plenty of water to drink, to bathe, to cook, and to wash clothes, dishes, and cars. We sprinkle our lawns with clean water. We fill Nerf guns and summer pools with clean water. For us, clean water is everywhere.

CREDIT--Plan-David-Ngige

CREDIT–Plan-David-Ngige

As we read A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park, we now know that for south Sudan and for so many other countries around the globe, clean water is a luxury more precious than gold or cattle. As we continue to journey with Nya and Salva across the barren landscape of a war-torn Sudan, I thought it was a good time to remind ourselves how vitally important water truly is–to all of us.

Today in your small group, watch each of these two videos. Please use the headphones provided. After each, complete the questionnaires you’ll find stacked on the table.

 

How much water should you drink each day?

 

What happens if you go without water?

After watching these two videos, complete the questionnaire on your table. 

If time permits, leave me a comment. Did you learn anything new or surprising?

Do your best work!

Mrs. Rombach

5 thoughts on “Water, Water Everywhere…but Not a Drop to Drink

  1. Hi Mrs.Rombach!

    I was wondering, since I posted a lot of comments, I haven’t seen them yet. I didn’t know if you got them or not, just in case! Anyways, I think we should drink 5 cups of water a day, even if people say we should drink 8 I don’t think anyone logically has the time to do that!

    Stay Happy 🙂
    Quynh-Thi http://eatsweet.edublogs.org

    • Quiynh-Thi-

      I’ve been approving all of the comments. I’ll go back and check, just in case. Thanks for commenting! – Mrs. Rombach

  2. I did not know that those things happen when you’re thirsty. And how affects when you go to use the bathroom. It taught me to stay hydrated and to get a lot of water.

  3. Hi Mrs Rombach,
    Yuck! Drinking your own pee? That’s gross! I think I need to drink more water. I think I’m a little under 2.7 liters.

    See you tomorrow,
    Brianna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *